Dominion partners with NC Firefighter Association for grants to volunteer fire departments

PLYMOUTH, N.C. (WITN) – Volunteer fire departments are often tasked with responding to emergencies and keeping us safe but funding to do that is often in short supply. The North Carolina State Firefighters Association held its quarterly meeting Thursday night in Plymouth detailing a new program to help.

A $25,000 grant from Dominion Energy is making it possible for them to team up with the North Carolina State Firefighters’ Association to support volunteer fire departments in the northeastern and uppermost Piedmont areas of North Carolina.

External affairs manager at Dominion, Winnie Wade is excited about this partnership. “I think it’s great. I’m looking forward to the partnership and hope we can continue this. I’m just grateful and Dominion is grateful we can help out these great individuals that help others in the community,” says Wade.

The Dominion Energy 2024 grant program is now accepting applications and the president of the NC Firefighter Association, Richard Pulley, says $1,000 grants will be awarded and can be used for different needs.

“Any equipment that the fire department can use. It could be fire hose, nozzles, gloves for the firefighters, helmets, pay towards turnout gear, air packs, boots, any kind of equipment like that,” says Pulley.

The treasurer of the North Carolina Firefighter Association is thrilled that fire departments will be able to apply for the money.

“This grant is really important to protect the firefighters because we want to protect them from not only being burned and hurt but also from cancer-causing percentages that we pick up in structure fires,” says Jay Howell.

Howell also stated that before having this grant opportunity they would have to do fundraisers on their own to get the money to buy new equipment.

The deadline for the application is June 1st.

The Volunteer fire departments in these counties may apply: Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Granville, Halifax, Hertford, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Tyrrell, Warren, and Washington.